Skip to content

BHG and Brownies

September 25, 2010

When I moved into my first apartment after living on campus for two years, my Mom gave me this. That was in 2006. It took me until 2009 to actually use it, but this is the cookbook I used to learn to cook. Notice the yellow stain on the bottom left corner…that would be the first time I didn’t have the lid all the way on the blender…


For the record, Dear Husband is a history major, which translates into many nights of him reading and me entertaining myself. This is fine, especially when tomorrow is my birthday and Cheesecake Brownies are on the menu!

The first thing I would advise is that you start with a clean kitchen, because it takes two mixers (I use my trusty KitchenAid and a hand mixer) and at the end the whole kitchen is splotched with chocolate. FYI, this is one of the recipes that I haven’t tried to make healthy, too many people enjoy it just the way it is; BUT if anyone tries any variations let me know!! đŸ™‚

CHEESECAKE BROWNIES
Interpreted from BHG

Preheat 350 degrees

  • 8 ounces semisweet chocolate, chopped (I use dark dark chocolate)
  • 3 TBS butter
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour (I have to add a smidge extra for altitude)
  • 3/4 cup chopped macadamia nuts, toasted (I leave these out)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 8-ounce package cream cheese, softened
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 2 TBS all-purpose flour
  • 1 TBS lemon juice

Line a 13x9x2-inch baking pan with foil, extending foil over edges of pan. Grease foil; set pan aside. In a large heavy saucepan cook and stir the chocolate and butter over low heat until chocolate melts. Remove from heat; cool.

In a large mixing bowl beat 2 of the eggs with an electric mixer on medium speed until foamy (about 3-4 minutes). Add the 1 1/4 cup sugar, the water, and 1 tsp vanilla; beat about 5 minutes or until mixture is thick and lemon colored. This starts the “brownies”.

This is the time I let the KitchenAid go and mix up the “cheesecake” portion. In a medium bowl, beat the remaining 2 eggs, 1 tsp vanilla, cream cheese, the 2/3 cup sugar, 2 TBS flour, and the lemon juice until smooth. I add them one ingredient at a time to keep it as smooth as possible. Set aside.

In the brownie mixture (KitchenAid), beat in cooled chocolate mixture. Stir in the 1 cup (plus smidge) flour, nuts (if you wish), baking powder, and salt.

Spread half of the prepared brownie batter in pan. Pour entire bowl of cheesecake batter on top; these two layers will be easy. The third layer is the other half of the brownie batter, and I always seem to over-mix with a knife in an attempt to make the swirls look pretty.


I think I get a little “swirl happy”, but it makes an interesting third layer.

Bake for 45 minutes, then take the pan out of the oven and put it directly on a cooling rack. Let sit for 2 hours, do not pass go, do not collect $200. They’ll taste good, but they’ll be crumbly!! Use this time to clean up your mess in the kitchen:

But when they’ve cooled (Dear Husband must have said that they smelled amazing at least 10 times through this process), they are so worth it!

Look at those layers!!

This one lasted about 5 seconds. Yum!

We’re heading down the mountain to go to a restaurant named “The Melting Pot” for my birthday dinner and I am excited! Chocolate fondue, here I come!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

